Egypt – The Bully falls


When I was 12 years old, I was a fair haired boy with lots of patience and a deep seated love for life. I had no anger issues with my parents. My school was a very rough one and in every school, it seems, there are young men with attitude who subconsciously seem to have issues with fair haired patient boys who love life. Johnny K was one of those.

Johnny  was a likeable guy but the push-up champion of the school was just plain cocky. If I remember correctly, he could do 150 push-ups without getting tired. Whenever I walked the halls of the school, he would give me a little shove or a dirty look. This went on for months. He never actually picked a fight with me – he just had this attitude that said: “I don’t like you and I wish you would disappear from the face of the earth”.

It was a beautiful spring morning with clear blue skies and crocuses pushing up through the earth, energized by the warmth of the sun. I was feeling good and, as I walked down the hallway during the morning recess, the push-up champion gave me a little shove with his shoulder. At that moment, for some cosmic reason I will never be sure of, I just knew – the time had come for action. I pulled my arm back quickly, clenched my fist and smacked him on the forehead with four hard knuckles – with as much energy as I could muster. It felt very, very good. The very instant I connected, my whole world changed and – so did his.

Johnny always sat at the back of the classroom. After recess was over, I remember, the teacher asking him how he got the large black and blue welt in the center of his forehead. His reply was: “I was running and crashed into the door”. He never bothered me again. In fact, he always tried to make friends with me.

30 years later at a class reunion, I commented to him that I always remembered he was the push-up champion of the school. (I never mentioned the incident we had in the hall). He returned with: “I always remember you being a pretty tough guy in school”. I never thought of myself as a “tough guy” but I guess when you no longer live in fear, some people think that is “tough”. Maybe it is.

Now what does this have to do with the situation in Egypt? To me, it is very simple. It has a lot to do with Egypt – and the people of this world.

Democracy is the buzz word of America. My opinions on the current state of the world will be left for another article but for now I will say: the citizens of this world do not have a yearning to live in a democracy. What they really long for is freedom from oppression. They want to walk down the hallways of their life without being harassed and forced to live in fear. In short, they want a peaceful existence.

photo courtesy of presstv.ir

In any society, leaders are necessary. Every society requires smart people who can make decisions that affect the mass of the population. Most people understand this. The democratic system of leader selection was created as a means to, supposedly, release people from the despotic decisions of kings, queens, dictators and other forms of highly concentrated power. The key word is despotic.

Leaders who have the welfare of the people as a priority are not despotic, they are benevolent. Benevolence creates a feeling of freedom in the hearts of their people. Despotism creates a feeling of fear within the people. Fear is the ultimate tool of oppression.

It was time for history to be made. Finally, the fear dissipated and the people of Egypt realized, with the help of social internet media, the time had come for action. When the fear is gone, in the face of massive action . . .the bully falls, quickly and inevitably. The implications of this are massive.

More to come . . .

9 comments on “Egypt – The Bully falls

  1. have always liked metaphor of countries as people (would this be anthromorphicalizing?? 🙂

    it seems that societies mature through stages that could reflect the child / teen / young adult / adult / etc etc evolution in terms of their view of the world around them and their place in it.

    • I must admit, I wasn’t trying to anthromorphicalize when I wrote the piece, but, as they say, “if the shoe fits, wear it”. Ken, Thanks for the comment. For me it’s not about Countries – it’s about people. . . ./JA

  2. Great piece John.
    I am ecstatic that the DNA lineage that is Egyptian has broken through their fear barriers with such honourable actions. My heart cheers, and dances with them.
    I can’t help but think though that putting one’s faith and hope in Democracy is folly. Democracy has it’s bullies too and if finacial well-being is the carrot down the road of freedom, be wary. Democracies have people who will take equal advantage of the citizenry as dictators and armies.
    But the next step in evolution of human compassion and heart-felt peace is easier when your tummy is satisfied and no one is beating you.
    I look forward to social media exploding the inner peace bomb.

  3. Thanks Judith. You’re right. Democracy is just the latest tool for control by those who would control. At this time in history it is the most palatable system for the masses. It gives “the people” the illusion that they have some say in their future. I will have more to say on Democracy in later writings. Appreciate your comments. . ./J

  4. yes, you’re right Democracy is the buzz word of America but there comes a time especially in countries where the bloody regimes in which the people are raises their head and prefers to act rather than flock. So why not export democracy to these countries? is probably just what they want. 🙂
    Luv, from Italy
    Nicoletta

    • Thank you for your comments Nicoletta. You are absolutely right – Democracy is probably the best solution. I am, however, somewhat hesitant about this because “Decmocracy” in many third world countries doesn’t work. It looks like democracy, but it is really something else. You’ve inspired my to write a lengthy blog on Democracy – maybe this weekend.

      • Very nice post!
        The irony is that, for years, the Egyptian government claimed that Egypt had a democracy. A “democracy” in which a president has stayed in power for 30 years. And now when the people wanted real democracy – to be the ones to decide their fate – the vice president comes out and makes a very bold statement that the Egyptians are not yet ready for the culture of democracy. Well, aside from my obvious bias, I think the Egyptians have clearly shown that they are ready, and they deserve the best.

      • Thanks for the comment. I really appreciate the blog you posted – very informative. Yes the subject is democracy. It’s like the fake designer products coming out of China. Made to look like the real thing, but the quality and substance aren’t there. Imagine, you make something to look like the real thing and you make 10 times the profit because it falls apart a year (or day) later. There are more that a few “democracy’s around the world that are like that. They are perceived as democracy’s but, in fact, are nothing more that dictatorships. Change is in the wind. Finally the people of the world are starting to awake to their own incredible possibilties.

        . . ./J

  5. Loud applause, John!

    Fear is The weapon and is perpetuated in the media, television, movies, and every other possible way imaginable. Many people are paralyzed with it and resort to dulling their thinking with addictive behavior that lulls them for a bit. I recommend a month of absolute silence without distractions, just with our thoughts. Wonder what would happen after that if everyone did this? hugs, pat

Leave a Reply

