A Very Special Place


It’s 2.22am and the world out there is quiet and still. The odd car whizzes by on the street below my little one-bedroom apartment and I hear the wail of a siren and a woosh of the air as an ambulance driver speeds to rescue someone in distress. As I awaken from the stillness of my deep slumber, the realms of my conscious awareness begin to sharpen and I realize how very incredible my life has become. It truly is a joy to be alive.

Someone next to me is sleeping, deeply, silently and as I look out the window beside my bed I see the reflection of the dim city streetlights reflecting off the scattered wispy clouds in the cities dark night sky. The sun is on the other side of the earth, the light of dusk has long disappeared and the light of dawn is yet to come. I am wholly in the present – no thought of the past or future. At these special moments, when the feelings come powerfully, always my first inclination is to explore my inner world of sweet and joyful beauty. It is place inside where I practice the knowledge, many years ago, given to me by my honored teacher – a place inside where I can meditate upon my very self that I have come to know so intimately.

When I am sleeping, dreaming, the window next to my bed is always open, just a little, so my lungs can enjoy fresh air throughout the night. As I arise from the warmth of my bed, the coolness of the air becomes evident. I wrap a large blanket around my half naked body, to stay warm, and sit in my favorite spot, in the dark, knowing that soon I will enter my inner world where there is no limitation.

As my ever present thoughts drift slowly and surely into the distance of my awareness, in the silence, I begin to feel the primal energy and the rhythms of my inner self. My senses turn inwards and I feel the ever present beating of my own heart. The undulating waves of the ocean of breath, rising . . . falling, that is the very source of my life, fills me with a joy unattainable in my day to day world of activity. It is pure enjoyment and bliss. This is real peace. This is what the world needs. This, reliably, strengthens my will to live each day with clarity and consciousness . . . to express my inner experience with kindness and compassion in my interactions with others.

This particular night, however, after an hour or two – time has ceased to exist – my practice is interrupted by a powerful feeling that fills me. There is a story I must write – a story with many chapters about a little town in the dark woods where people live an idyllic life – a place where tall thousand year old trees, with thick bark, surround the town and the people live in harmony with their neighbors and the nature surrounding them.

I return to the warmth of my bed and slowly drift off, feeling good, knowing what I must do. . .

*     *     *

6 comments on “A Very Special Place

  1. There is nothing better than the inner self… and the stillness around us when everything just fades away while going deeper in that familiar place..! Looking forward to read the story about the little town! xx

  2. I really enjoyed reading this, both for the content and the style of writing. I completely understand about finding a new way of looking at life after/during meditation. When I take even ten minutes to slow down, to listen to my breath and to be still, I am able to experience a state of peace and acceptance that is deeper than my conscious mind. As you say – it is bliss. It completely transforms my experience of life.
    Thank you very much for sharing.
    Peace and love

Leave a Reply

